The garden used to be a part of Hartig Palace, yet today it is an inseparable part of the complex of the Prague Castle gardens. There are five sculptures of Ancient Gods here, made by the nephew of Matyáš Braun. Four of them are situated by the walls, but the fifth one, Dionysus – God of joy and wine, is situated inside the music pavilion.
The garden was founded by Isabela Švihovská of Salm in 1670. It was rebuilt in the Baroque style in the mid-17th century, when the upper and the lower terrace were built, interconnected by a staircase and a balustrade decorated with vases. The garden was acquired by a new owner, Count Josef Hartig, around 1720, and he built a new Baroque music pavilion in the garden, with unique stucco decorations, where he used to organize concerts, himself being an exceptional piano player.
The garden was included in the castle complex in the 1960s.
The terraces are accessible via a beautiful staircase nearby the music pavilion.