Prague Castle Riding Hall was built in the 1690s. Originally, the building was designed for a riding school and riding entertainment events. In 1760, the Riding Hall burned down and the first reconstruction was necessary, giving it a new ceiling, which is still in place today. The building of the new Riding Hall consisted of several parts. The largest of these was the Winter Riding Hall, designated for winter activities. The Winter Riding Hall then continued into the Summer Riding Hall and the Riding Yard, which mostly served farming purposes. Behind the riding hall, there used to be a Royal Pheasantry with an adjoining pond. The pond was used for keeping fish and it was also a water reservoir for the gardens. Some time later, this building was granted to the army, as well as other adjoining neighbourhood objects. In the mid-20th century, the Riding Hall was transformed into exhibition grounds and a gallery. Parts of the open Summer Riding Hall were later covered and rebuilt into garages. Architect Pavel Janák designed a unique garden on the roof of the newly built garages, which was, however, finished by another architect, Vladimír Tintěra.
In the years 1948-49, the Riding Hall was converted into exhibition grounds, and at present, it regularly hosts exhibitions of renowned artists.